Saturday, March 25, 2017

Murder Is No Accident- A. H. Gabhart

Murder is No Accident (Hidden Springs Mystery #3) by A. H. Gabhart

Young Maggie Greene may be trespassing in the old, empty Victorian mansion on a quiet street in Hidden Springs, but all she wants is some private time in the magnificent tower room to write her stories. Certain she'll be in trouble if caught, she hides when a realtor shows up. But someone else is in the house too, someone even more worried about getting caught. When Maggie finds the realtor's body at the bottom of a flight of stairs and the other person gone, Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane is called in. He assumes the realtor's death is a tragic accident--until a second person is found dead in the house. When Maggie is threatened, Michael must catch the murderer before anyone else dies.

Cozy mystery fans will love this third installment in The Hidden Springs Mysteries series from an author who knows how to make small-town America sweet, sentimental--and a little sinister.

My Thoughts

At first I wasn't sure I was going to be able to finish the first few chapters. There were so many characters. I mean a lot. I was constantly flipping back to remember who was connected to who. There was a lot of storylines and it felt all over the place for the first few chapters. This is the third book in this series so I was probably lost as far as the characters and such because I haven't read the other books. I was coming in blind to this series so it was very hard for me to connect with the characters.

I did however press through because I like to read all of a book if I am going to review it to be honest and fair.

Maggie Green the young girl who was in the wrong place and the wrong time when a murder takes place has to deal with holding this all in by herself and she is scared and feels alone. She is scared she will be in trouble for being where she shouldn't have been. A little about Maggie....She has a lot of responsibility on her plate with a mom working hard to help make ends meet due to her husband being laid off and he is dealing with his own demons of alcoholism. There is also a cute relationship that she develops and it was sweet. She also joins a youth group and I love to see the ministry at work in her life.

Maggie is really the key to this whole mystery. Maggie has a connection with the owner (Miss Fonda) of a Victorian Mansion that holds secrets. This mansion has seen a death before many years ago. The death of Miss Fonda's Sister, Audrey. Her death is also a mystery which leads you down a few twisty trails as your reading. You find Maggie was in the wrong place and the wrong time not once but three times. The third time is when all unravels and the mystery unfolds. She is truly a strong young girl. She was also threatened because someone knows she was there in the house when the murder took place.

Deputy Sherriff Michael Keane is a true dedicated citizen to Hidden Springs a small community. He is in love with his childhood sweetheart, Alex, who is off living her dream as a big time lawyer. They both love each other but are torn between locations and fear of telling one another of their love. Michael loves Hidden Springs and Alex loves Washington. She ends up coming back because her uncle has a stroke. So, Michael plans to declare his love once and for all for Alex. There is only short bits of this romance through out the book. It is not what the story is focused on. Michael seems brave and has a heart of gold for the citizens.

As far as the mystery of the deaths I knew who the killers were way before the end of the book. It was really easy to pick up on it. But I have read much more twisted and harder mysteries and this is a perfect book for a beginner of mysteries. The twisted part was of Miss Fonda's sister death.

If you want a clean, wholesome, and simple mystery book this would be for you.

I give this book a 4 out of 5. It was just a simple, clean and neat read.

About the Author

A. H. Gabhart is the author of Murder at the Courthouse and Murder Comes by Mail. As Ann H. Gabhart, she is the bestselling author of many novels, including Angel Sister, Small Town Girl, and Love Comes Home, several Shaker novels such as The Outsider, The Believer, and The Innocent, and The Heart of Hollyhill series. Ann grew up in a small Kentucky town much like Hidden Springs, and today she and her husband live on a farm nearby. Learn more at

** I received a free copy from Revell Publishing for my review. No compensation was received and opinions are solely my own.**



  1. I like a good mystery, Chrissy and that sounds very interesting. I haven't read any of that series.

    1. It's a decent read. Thanks for reading my review.

  2. Great post, and great website. Thanks for the information! Click Here

  3. This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. Car Accident Lawyer Michigan


Welcome! Love your friendly comments.